Life As a Sales Quota

Happy New Year!  

So, like many people, a new year brings a time of personal reflection.

For me, and I’m sure many others, I took the time to self-reflect upon the year and asked myself whether or not my own personal metrics that I used to gauge my individual successes was unrealistic.

So, what do I mean?  

For me, I don’t believe in applying a numeric grading scale to determine my life.  (Please refer to my previous post for why not).  My grading scale is more of  a experience-oriented one and so unique to my individualized personality that most people wouldn’t be able to fully digest my methodologies or logic.

That’s fine by me.  After all, why should I impose my metrics on how I’m doing in life to anyone else?  I am a firm believer that everyone is able to make their own decisions, without anyone imposing their beliefs on others.

So, now that I’ve proceeded with a long winded explanations of my metrics, I came up with notion of the overall concept of creating a metric / numeric (whichever you prefer) grading scale for one’s self and then came to the conclusion…. we’ve, in theory, implemented a sales quota to gauge our successes.

Quotas??

To those that are not familiar with the world of Sales, a quota is established to give sales employees a physical target number to achieve to ensure their jobs are secured.  Every month, cold calls are made, emails are sent and networking events are attended to secure a signage within the month.  The high pressured roles are either met with success or with the door.

After the Times Square ball dropped a few days ago though, it got me thinking of all the quotas that we truly implement in our lives with whichever metric system we use to gauge our personal self evaluation.

Is it because we live in a consumerism society where the implementation of quotas to evaluate ourselves is made?

Yesterday, January 1st, 2016, the “resolution” kicks and commercials came in and I couldn’t help but think about it how we truly live our live with trying to endlessly achieve a quota that will, essentially, never be achieved.  We bestow these, typically, unrealistic goals and resolutions upon ourselves that the self-improvement industry has created over a $1 billion industry.  If the industry is working, then why are we continuing to seek out advice on how to improve?

Are our quotas so impossible to meet that we are perpetually in a constant cyclical state where our quotas are so high we will never truly be satisfied?

 

Everywhere I look, there’s always some advertisement that always focuses on improving ones self.   So much so, that sometimes you truly have to take a step back and realize and realize how fortunate many of us are to be alive, have shelter, and be able to speak freely.

 

To my belief (and this is by no means criticizing sales professionals), I truly think we all implement this behavior and although it may be beneficial to some, it’s always a good thing to take a step back and realize the little things that we can truly be fortunate with….

 

Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

